Kohelet Foundation Launches Kohelet Prize


Source: The Kohelet Foundation


The Kohelet Prize is awarded annually to six educators or teams of educators, working in Jewish day schools, who demonstrate extraordinary accomplishment in one of the six core elements of progressive Jewish education listed below. Winners receive a $36,000 unrestricted cash prize. Entries must demonstrate a model that has already been implemented in the classroom. Entries should describe impact on students as well as which aspects of the model worked and which did not and why. Winners will be selected by a panel of judges in the fields of education, psychology and neuroscience, identified by the Kohelet Foundation. We strongly encourage you to register now to receive information and updates.

The unrestricted $36,000 prize will be awarded to educators or teams of educators, who currently work in Jewish day schools and whose work skillfully demonstrates a progressive approach to education in the following six categories:

  • Interdisciplinary Integration
  • Real-World Learning
  • Learning Environment
  • Differentiated Instruction
  • Development of Critical and/or Creative Thinking
  • Risk Taking and Failure

To submit an entry, educators will share their work by uploading it directly to the Kohelet Prize website, any time starting September 29, 2016 until 11:59PM on November 29, 2016.

To promote an open source culture within the field, the Kohelet Foundation plans to create a searchable database of all entries. The database will be accessible, after the close of submissions, via the Kohelet Prize website

The Kohelet Prizes will be awarded in early 2017.

Updated: Aug. 23, 2016